International Ice Hockey Federation

Decker named MVP

Decker named MVP

Tied for scoring, gold medal winner

Published 08.04.2017 00:44 GMT-4 | Author Andrew Podnieks
Decker named MVP
PLYMOUTH, MICHIGAN - APRIL 7: Tournament Chairman, Frank Gonzalez of the IIHF presents the Directorate Awards to Finland's Jenni Hiirikoski (Top Defenseman). Brianna Decker #14 (Top Forward) and Noora Raty #41 (Top Goaltender) at the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women's World Championship. (Photo by Matt Zambonin/HHOF-IIHF Images)
U.S. forward Brianna Decker was a triple winner. She was awarded MVP and Directorate Award trophies and was named to the All-Star Team as a forward.

Decker tied for the scoring lead with teammate Kendall Coyne, each recording 12 points in five games. Decker led all players with nine assists while Coyne was leader in goals with five.

Most Valuable Player

Brianna Decker, United States

Directorate Awards

Best Goaltender: Noora Raty, Finland
Best Defenceman: Jenni Hiirikoski, Finland
Best Forward: Brianna Decker, United States

Media All-Star Team

Goal: Noora Raty, Finland
Defence: Jenni Hiirikoski, Finland
Defence: Monique Lamoureux, United States
Forward: Marie-Philip Poulin, Canada
Forward: Brianna Decker, United States
Forward: Kendall Coyne, United States

Total attendance for the 21 games at USA Hockey arena in Plymouth was 20,034 for 22 games

The 2019 IIHF Ice Hockey Women's World Championship will be held in Finland.


Back to Overview