International Ice Hockey Federation

WW host names roster

WW host names roster

23 players make team for Plymouth

Published 07.03.2017 10:08 GMT-5 | Author USA Hockey
WW host names roster
Team USA players before the gold medal game of the gold medal game of the 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship. Can the Americans defend the title on home ice? Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
USA Hockey announced today the roster for the U.S. Women's National Team that will compete in the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship.

Seventeen of the 23 players on the roster were on the team that helped the U.S. earn the gold medal at the 2016 IIHF IIHF Ice Hockey Women's World Championship. The roster also features 13 members of the silver medal-winning 2014 U.S. Women's Olympic Ice Hockey Team, including Kacey Bellamy, Megan Bozek, Alex Carpenter, Kendall Coyne, Brianna Decker, Meghan Duggan, Amanda Kessel, Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Morando, Gigi Marvin, Kelli Stack and Lee Stecklein.

The 23 players represent 12 different states. Minnesota leads the way with five representatives followed by Massachusetts with four and Wisconsin with three, while Illinois and North Dakota have two. Colorado, Idaho, Maryland, Michigan, New Hampshire, Ohio, and Vermont all have one representative.

The U.S. coaching staff includes Head Coach Robb Stauber, Associate Coach Brett Strot, Assistant Coaches Paul Mara and Chris Tamer and Goaltending Coach Mike Richter.

The U.S. has won the last three Women's World Championships and has played Canada in the gold medal game in all 17 of the previous events, capturing the top prize a total of seven times (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016), including six of the last seven tournaments.

Roster USA

Nicole Hensley,
Alex Rigsby, Minnesota Whitecaps
Maddie Rooney, University of Minnesota Duluth (WCHA)

Kacey Bellamy, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Megan Bozek, Buffalo Beauts (NWHL)
Kali Flanagan, Boston College (HEA)
Megan Keller, Boston College (HEA)
Monique Lamoureux-Morando, Minnesota Whitecaps
Emily Pfalzer, Buffalo Beauts (NWHL)
Lee Stecklein, University of Minnesota (WCHA)

Hannah Brandt, Minnesota Whitecaps
Alex Carpenter, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Kendall Coyne, Minnesota Whitecaps
Brianna Decker, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Meghan Duggan, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Amanda Kessel, New York Riveters (NWHL)
Hilary Knight, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Minnesota Whitecaps
Gigi Marvin, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Kelly Pannek, University of Minnesota (WCHA)
Amanda Pelkey, Boston Pride (NWHL)
Haley Skarupa, Connecticut Whale (NWHL)
Kelli Stack, Connecticut Whale (NWHL)

Head Coach:
Robb Stauber


Back to Overview