International Ice Hockey Federation

More teams named

More teams named

Women’s Worlds start in four days

Published 27.03.2017 12:22 GMT-4 | Author Martin Merk
More teams named
Czech forward Aneta Ledlova and Russian forward Yelena Dergachyova are among the players who recently travelled to the United States to prepare for the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Plymouth, Michigan. Photo: Jana Chytilova / HHOF-IIHF Images
More participating associations have named their rosters for the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship that begins on Friday.

Defending bronze medallist Russia travelled to the United States with three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 13 forwards. One of the skaters will be cut from the team after camp as only 23 players can be registered for the event in the Detroit suburb of Plymouth. Most of the players most recently competed in the Russian Women’s Hockey League. One of the notable exceptions is Iya Gavrilova, who is in her third season in Canada as one of the top goal scorers of the CWHL’s Calgary Inferno.

The Czech Republic returns after its best placing placement all-time, sixth last year in Kamloops, with three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards. The players join from club teams in six different countries. Eight play in their home country, seven in the United States, three each in Russia and Sweden, and one each in Canada and Switzerland.

Recently promoted Germany travelled to North America on Saturday after a camp on home ice in Fussen. “The upcoming top division Women’s World Championship will be a great challenge. We will prepare intensively during the upcoming days of camp in Ann Arbor for our first opponent Sweden,” head coach Benjamin Hinterstocker said.

The roster combines experienced players such as Andrea Lanzl (266 international games) and younger ones such as 2000-born defender Tabea Botthof. Four players join from U.S. college teams, three from the Swedish league and the rest from German club teams.

In other news Switzerland had to replace one player on the roster. Nina Waidacher, one of the three sisters on the team, has to travel back due to a dislocated shoulder. Defender Celine Abgottspon of HC Lugano is on her way to the U.S. to replace her.

Roster Russia

Nadezhda Alexandrova, Tornado Moscow Region
Nadezhda Morozova, Biryusa Krasnoyarsk
Maria Sorokina, Dynamo St. Petersburg

Maria Batalova, Tornado Moscow Region
Anastasia Chistyakova, Detroit Belle Tire
Liana Ganeyeva, Arktik-Universitet Ukhta
Angelina Goncharenko, Tornado Moscow Region
Yekaterina Lobova, Biryusa Krasnoyarsk
Nina Pirogova, Tornado Moscow Region
Anna Shibanova, Agidel Ufa
Anna Shukina, Agidel Ufa

Lyudmila Belyakova, Tornado Moscow Region
Yelena Dergachyova, Tornado Moscow Region
Yevgenia Dyupina, Dynamo St. Petersburg
Iya Gavrilova, Calgary Inferno (CWHL)
Fanuza Kadirova, Arktik-Universitet Ukhta
Lidia Malyavko, Biryusa Krasnoyarsk
Elina Mitrofanova, Agidel Ufa
Anna Shokhina, Tornado Moscow Region
Alevtina Shtaryova, Tornado Moscow Region
Galina Skiba, Tornado Moscow Region
Yekaterina Smolentseva, Agidel Ufa
Olga Sosina, Agidel Ufa
Alexandra Vafina, University of Calgary (CAN)

Head Coach:
Alexei Chistyakov

Roster Czech Republic

Kristyna Blahova, HC Tabor
Klara Peslarova, SDE Hockey (SWE)
Blanka Skodova, Jestrabi Prostejov

Pavlina Horalkova, Biryusa Krasnoyarsk (RUS)
Petra Herzigova, Sundsvall Hockey (SWE)
Samantha Kolowratova, University of Vermont (NCAA)
Adela Skrdlova, Slavia Trebic
Aneta Tejralova, Dynamo St. Petersburg (RUS)
Martina Zednikova, Vajgar J. Hradec
Anna Zikova, AZ Havirov

Katerina Bukolska, Ottawa Sens (CAN)
Klara Chmelova, HC Litvinov
Denisa Krizova, Northeastern University (NCAA)
Aneta Ledlova, Robert Morris University (NCAA)
Klara Hymlarova, HK Opava
Lucie Manhartova, Sundsvall Hockey (SWE)
Katerina Mrazova, University of Minnesota Duluth (NCAA)
Michaela Pejzlova, Clarkson University (NCAA)
Alena Polenska, Dynamo St. Petersburg (RUS)
Lucie Povova, Stadion Litomerice
Vendula Pribylova, University of Maine (NCAA)
Simona Studentova, EC Wil (SUI)
Tereza Vanisova, University of Maine (NCAA)

Head Coach:
Jiri Vozak

Roster Germany

Franziska Albl, TEV Miesbach
Jennifer Harss, ERC Sonthofen
Ivonne Schroder, Tornado Niesky

Anne Bartsch, HV71 Jonkoping (SWE)
Tabea Botthof, ESC Planegg
Lena Dusterhoft, Minnesota State (NCAA)
Tanja Eisenschmid, Minnesota Whitecaps (USA)
Anna Fiegert, Minnesota State (NCAA)
Daria Gleissner, Memmingen Indians
Rebecca Graeve, EC Bergkamen
Ronja Jenike, ESC Planegg
Yvonne Rothemund, ESC Planegg
Carina Strobel, Memmingen Indians

Manuela Anwander, Memmingen Indians
Marie Delarbre, Merrimack College (NCAA)
Nicola Eisenschmid, Memmingen Indians
Nina Kamenik, OSC Berlin
Bernadette Karpf, ESC Planegg
Laura Kluge, Linkopings HC (SWE)
Sophie Kratzer, ESC Planegg
Andrea Lanzl, Linkopings HC
Kerstin Spielberger, ESC Planegg
Julia Zorn, ESC Planegg

Head Coach:
Benjamin Hinterstocker


Back to Overview