International Ice Hockey Federation

Canada names roster

Canada names roster

Women’s team set for Plymouth

Published 27.02.2017 14:44 GMT-5 | Author Hockey Canada
Canada names roster
Canada's national women's team prepares for a game. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
23 players have been selected to represent Team Canada at the upcoming 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Plymouth, Michigan (USA).

Canada’s National Women’s Team roster was selected by head coach Laura Schuler alongside Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of national women’s team programs, and included support from Hockey Canada regional scouts, assistant coaches Dwayne Gylywoychuk and Troy Ryan, and the team’s goaltending coach Brad Kirkwood.

“This is a determined group of players that have been chosen to wear the red-and-white on the international stage,” said Laura Schuler, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team. “As our evaluation process continues leading into the selection of our Olympic centralization roster later this year, we’re confident this group will make Canada proud in Plymouth and we’re looking forward to building on our successes from the 2016-17 season.”

Team Canada’s coaching staff will also be joined by Caroline Ouellette (Concordia University, RSEQ), a four-time Olympic gold-medallist with the National Women’s Team, who has been named an assistant coach alongside Gylywoychuk and Ryan for the championship.

Canada’s National Women’s Team for the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship includes:

  • 17 players who were victorious in the two-game 2016 December Series against the United States with Canada’s National Women’s Team (Agosta, Ambrose, Clark, Fortino, Irwin, Jenner, Johnston, Larocque, Maschmeyer, Mikkelson, Potomak, Poulin, Rougeau, Spooner, Szabados, Turnbull, Wakefield);
  • 16 players who won a silver medal with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship (Agosta, Bram, Clark, Davis, Fortino, Jenner, Johnston, Krzyzaniak, Larocque, Maschmeyer, Mikkelson, Poulin, Rougeau, Spooner, Turnbull, Wakefield);
  • 13 players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia (Agosta, Fortino, Irwin, Jenner, Johnston, Lacasse, Larocque, Mikkelson, Poulin, Rougeau, Spooner, Szabados, Wakefield);
  • Four players who will make their world championship debut with Canada’s National Women’s Team (Ambrose, Fast, Potomak, Stacey).

Canada will open the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship against the United States on 31st March, and also faces Finland (1 April) and Russia (3 April) in the preliminary round. Click on Games for a complete schedule.

All of Canada’s games at the 2017 IIHF Women’s World Championship will be broadcast by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada.

Players in Canada’s National Women’s Team program will continue to be monitored with their club teams leading into and during the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship by Hockey Canada scouts, along with the coaching staff, prior to the announcement of Canada’s National Women’s Team Olympic centralization roster this spring.

Team Canada

Shannon Szabados, Fort Saskatchewan (CHL)
Emerance Maschmeyer, Calgary (CWHL)
Geneviève Lacasse, Calgary (CWHL)

Jocelyne Larocque, Brampton (CWHL)
Lauriane Rougeau, Montreal (CWHL)
Laura Fortino, Brampton (CWHL)
Meaghan Mikkelson, Calgary (CWHL)
Halli Krzyzaniak, University of North Dakota (WCHA)
Erin Ambrose, Toronto (CWHL)
Renata Fast, Toronto (CWHL)

Meghan Agosta, Hockey Canada
Rebecca Johnston, Calgary (CWHL)
Jennifer Wakefield, Linköping HC (SWE)
Bailey Bram, Calgary (CWHL)
Brianne Jenner, Calgary (CWHL)
Haley Irwin, Calgary (CWHL)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto (CWHL)
Emily Clark, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Montreal (CWHL)
Sarah Davis, Calgary (CWHL)
Blayre Turnbull, Calgary (CWHL)
Laura Stacey, Brampton (CWHL)
Sarah Potomak, University of Minnesota (WCHA)

Head Coach:
Laura Schuler


Back to Overview